Thank You For Your Feedback

If you have any additional comments about the information on this page, please let us know.

We've just launched our new website!

Our new site has just launched, and some of the pages are currently still under construction.

We thank you for your patience, please don't hesitate to contact us if you have any questions or queries.

  • Support line: +44 (0)1653 699599
  • Contact Us

President and Vice Presidents

We are very fortunate as a Society to be supported by our President and Vice Presidents. They are a dedicated part of our family, not only raising our profile and reputations amongst their networks but also opening doors for funding and relationships. 

Professor Barbara Wilson, OBE

We are incredibly lucky to have Professor Barbara Wilson, OBE a long standing champion of our work as our President. 

Barbara Wilson is a clinical neuropsychologist who has worked in brain injury rehabilitation for nearly 40 years. She has won many awards for her work including an OBE for services to rehabilitation in 1998 and three lifetime achievement awards, one from the British Psychological Society, one from the International Neuropsychological Society and one from the National Academy of Neuropsychology.  In September 2011 she received the Ramon Y Cahal award from the International Neuropsychiatric Association. In December 2014 she received the M.B.Shapiro award, a late career award for clinical psychologists who have achieved eminence in the profession and have had significant impact on the knowledge/practice of British clinical psychology.  She has published 22 books (with another in press), over 270 journal articles and chapters and 8 neuropsychological tests. She is editor of the journal “Neuropsychological Rehabilitation” which she founded in 1991 and in 1996 she founded the Oliver Zangwill Centre for Neuropsychological Rehabilitation. A rehabilitation centre in Quito, Ecuador is named after her. She is currently on the management committee of The World Federation of Neuro Rehabilitation. The Division of Neuropsychology has named a prize after her, the Barbara A Wilson prize for distinguished contributions to neuropsychology. She is a Fellow of The British Psychological Society, The Academy of Medical Sciences and The Academy of Social Sciences. She is honorary professor at the University of Hong Kong, the University of Sydney and the University of East Anglia and has honorary degrees from The University of East Anglia and The University of Cordoba, Argentina.

Barbara A Wilson, OBE, Ph.D, CPsychol, ScD, FBPsS, FMedSci, AcSS

Richard Lockwood

Richard Lockwood became aware of The Society and its work when we were chosen as Charity of The Year 2013 by The October Club.  Richard was very impressed with our Chief Executive Ava Easton and The Society's work, so much so that he had agreed to mentor, offer guidance and help us network, opening doors to help us transform our future. Richard has over fifty years experience in the financial services industry equally split between broking and fund management. He latterly set up a fund management business which was ultimately sold and half the proceeds used to establish the Lockwood Family Foundation, the three trustees being himself, his wife Lesley and his daughter, Rebecca. 

Kika Markham

Kika Markhamn is an actor and writer known to millions for her acting roles (including as Lois Selfridge in “Mr Selfridge”) and for her political activism. Kika has written a powerful and moving memoir of her life with husband Corin Redgrave (brother to Vanessa Redgrave) who died in 2010 after acquiring a brain injury.  Limited edition, signed copies of Kika’s book, “Our Time Of Day” can be purchased through our online shop.

Baroness Anne McIntosh

Baroness McIntosh is currently in the House of Lords and served as MP between 2010 and 2015 where the Society's office is based.  Anne has a personal connection to encephalitis through her husband who survived encephalitis at age 24. Anne is keen to support our work and raise awareness of encephalitis among the general public, health professionals and her colleagues in the House of Lords. “The Encephalitis Society is a shining example of a charity offering help, guidance and support to sufferers,” 

Tom Naylor-Leyland

The Society is honoured to have Tom Naylor-Leyland, from the Fitzwilliam Estate, heir to one of Britain’s land-owning dynasties, and organiser of the Malton Food Lovers Festival, lending his support to our charity.  Both The Society and Tom want the best for Malton, and as it is the home of the Society offices, we want to play our part in its success. Tom says he is “…delighted and honoured to now be involved with this impressive and important charity”.

Tiggy Sutton

Tiggy Sutton is married to Robert Sutton and is long standing and loyal supporter, raising thousands of pounds for The Society and much needed awareness. Tiggy's son Johnny to was lost to Encephalitis when he was 17 years old in 2008.  Johnny’s legacy continues in the form of the Johnny Sutton Travel Bursary Prize which The Society awards each year to students in the fields of medicine and neuropsychology at both undergraduate and postgraduate levels.  Tiggy has also contributed her story to a soon-to-be-published book by Psychology Press on survivor narratives being written by our Chief Executive Dr Ava Easton.

Robert Sutton

Robert is married to Tiggy Sutton and has championed The Society since the tragic loss of his son Johnny in 2008. Robert's background as a highly respected city lawyer at Macfarlanes has helped The Society develop networks and Macfarlanes generously donate their office space for our annual Professional Seminar in London each December. 

The Encephalitis Society is the operating name of the Encephalitis Support Group which is a registered Charity and Company Limited by Guarantee.

Registered in England and Wales No. 4189027. Registered Office as above. Registered Charity No. 1087843.